from Facebook

Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
Emerging Writers of Scotland : this is your heads up that The New Year Tweet Pitch is just a week away!  On Friday 15 January Scotlands agents and publishers will be eagerly looking out for the tweets pitching your work - fiction, nonfiction & writing for children.  Get honing those pitches down to 280 characters now!
Two packages arrived here yesterday which seemed to complement each other perfectly: Alchemy & Rose, the compelling new novel by author of The House Between Tides @sarahmainebooks, set in New Zealand gold rush - and this pair of exquisitely embellished gloves. Thank you @hodderbooks and @sewingmatters! 
‘This feels like an epic read, and it is a beautifully written, evocative novel that I anticipate reading and re-reading for years to come’ Woman’s Way
#historicalfiction 
#newzealandgoldmininghistory

Comment on Facebook

Love those gloves 🙂

Ffrom today's Bookseller:
Epistolary novel Love, Hope to Hodder

Hodder & Stoughton has bagged Love, Hope by Juliet Ann Conlin, an "uplifting" and "life-affirming" epistolary novel about overcoming loneliness and finding happiness.

Commissioning editor Thorne Ryan bought world rights from Jenny Brown at the Jenny Brown Associates, and plans to publish in e-book in October 2021 and in paperback in January 2022.

The book has been billed as perfect for fans of Where Rainbows End and The Keeper of Lost Things.

The synopsis reads: "Ever since she first picked up a violin, Hope Sullivan dreamed of going to music college, joining an orchestra and travelling the world with her best friend Janey. But when her parents were killed in a car accident on the way to one of her recitals, she gave it all up to look after her younger sister, Autumn. Ten years later, Janey is living their dream on her own, Autumn is flourishing as a doctor and Hope's life is smaller and less musical than ever. Meanwhile, Arnold Quince had the happiest of lives – until he lost his beloved wife Marion. Once the life and soul of the village, he withdrew into his grief and pushed all his friends away. Now, five years on, he is sick, lonely and just counting down the years until he can be with Marion again. But then Hope and Arnold are pushed into writing to one another, and neither has any idea how much their life is about to change..."

Conlin, born in London and now living in Berlin, works as a writer and translator. She holds an MA in Creative Writing from Lancaster University and a PhD in Psychology from the University of Durham, and she has written four previous novels. She said: "With all that’s been going on recently in the world, it felt good and important to be writing about the essence of our shared humanity: friendship, love and compassion. It was a joy to write, and I hope my readers connect with the characters as much as I have."

Ryan said: "Love, Hope is one of those books you get immediately lost in. The brilliant hook, unusual structure, universal themes, vivid characters and Juliet’s poignant, nuanced yet lively writing are a breathtaking combination, and I just devoured it in one sitting. It’s exactly what the world needs right now, and I cannot wait for readers to discover it."
... See MoreSee Less

2 weeks ago

Ffrom todays Bookseller:
Epistolary novel Love, Hope to Hodder

Hodder & Stoughton has bagged Love, Hope by Juliet Ann Conlin, an uplifting and life-affirming epistolary novel about overcoming loneliness and finding happiness.

Commissioning editor Thorne Ryan bought world rights from Jenny Brown at the Jenny Brown Associates, and plans to publish in e-book in October 2021 and in paperback in January 2022.

The book has been billed as perfect for fans of Where Rainbows End and The Keeper of Lost Things.

The synopsis reads: Ever since she first picked up a violin, Hope Sullivan dreamed of going to music college, joining an orchestra and travelling the world with her best friend Janey. But when her parents were killed in a car accident on the way to one of her recitals, she gave it all up to look after her younger sister, Autumn. Ten years later, Janey is living their dream on her own, Autumn is flourishing as a doctor and Hopes life is smaller and less musical than ever. Meanwhile, Arnold Quince had the happiest of lives – until he lost his beloved wife Marion. Once the life and soul of the village, he withdrew into his grief and pushed all his friends away. Now, five years on, he is sick, lonely and just counting down the years until he can be with Marion again. But then Hope and Arnold are pushed into writing to one another, and neither has any idea how much their life is about to change...

Conlin, born in London and now living in Berlin, works as a writer and translator. She holds an MA in Creative Writing from Lancaster University and a PhD in Psychology from the University of Durham, and she has written four previous novels. She said: With all that’s been going on recently in the world, it felt good and important to be writing about the essence of our shared humanity: friendship, love and compassion. It was a joy to write, and I hope my readers connect with the characters as much as I have.

Ryan said: Love, Hope is one of those books you get immediately lost in. The brilliant hook, unusual structure, universal themes, vivid characters and Juliet’s poignant, nuanced yet lively writing are a breathtaking combination, and I just devoured it in one sitting. It’s exactly what the world needs right now, and I cannot wait for readers to discover it.

Comment on Facebook

Fantastic uplifting news on a dull lockdown January day Juliet Conlin and Jenny Brown . Congratulations 💕🎉💕

This sounds brilliant. I love books where letters are a big part of conveying the story.

Fabulous news!

Fantabulous news Juliet - we are so proud of you!!!! ❤👍😊

Great news. That's why you've been do quiet. 😊😘

View more comments

New Year, New Books! A selection (In publication order) of our first titles of 2021, starting with Intensive Care by Gavin Francis published on Thursday, hailed by Allan Massie in Scotsman ‘I can’t recommend it too strongly’. More publications to be added to this fine pile once copies arrive. 
We may be in lockdown, but you can still order from your bookshops via click& collect, or online at Waterstones.com or at uk.bookshop.org.
Christmas Eve! We are following Icelandic tradition of gifting books to family and friends to read tonight, preferably with something delicious to drink at hand. Island Dreams is a perfect choice as we long for our freedoms to be restored. Gavin Francis’ meditation on isolation and connection is a timely reminder that, although we may not travel far for now, we can always cross oceans and roam over borders in our imaginations. 
#jolabokaflod 
#jbaadventcalendar 
#booksforchristmas

Comment on Facebook

Enjoying this with a glass of mulled wine. Thanks Jenny Brown! #jolabokaflod

from Twitter

Load More...