from Facebook

Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons

RIGHTS ANNOUNCEMENT
from today's Bookseller

Rider triumphs in three-way auction for Munro's memoir

Ebury imprint Rider won a three-way auction for The Ponies at the Edge of the World, a "stunning" memoir from Catherine Munro on her search for belonging on the Shetland Islands.

Editor Bianca Bexton acquired UK and Commonwealth rights from Jenny Brown at Jenny Brown Associates. Rider will publish in hardback on 2nd June 2022.

The synopsis reads: "Munro transforms her life when she ups sticks and moves to the tiny island of Whalsay as part of her PhD, studying the hardy ponies that inhabit this rugged and remote landscape. Over the course of a year, she experiences the uncertainty of life as an outsider, devastating loss and the harsh nature of this wild land. Yet through it all, she finds comfort and hope through the people and animals of Shetland who help her find the sense of home she has always been looking for. This is a heart-warming and uplifting story about the incredible healing that comes from our connection to nature and each other."

Bexton said: "I’m thrilled to be welcoming Catherine to the list with her wonderful first book. The Ponies at the Edge of the World is a timeless story of finding your place in life set in the stunning landscapes of Shetland. It is a gorgeous piece of escapism for anyone yearning for a gentler pace of life and a real hymn to the comfort and healing we can find in the people, places and animals closest to us. A perfect read for fans of Raynor Winn, Amy Liptrot and Helen Macdonald."

Munro commented: "I am delighted to be publishing my book with Rider. It is wonderful to be able to share the stories of the intertwined lives of people and ponies in Shetland and my own journey of finding a sense of home there."
... See MoreSee Less

4 days ago

RIGHTS ANNOUNCEMENT 
from todays Bookseller

Rider triumphs in three-way auction for Munros memoir

Ebury imprint Rider won a three-way auction for The Ponies at the Edge of the World, a stunning memoir from Catherine Munro on her search for belonging on the Shetland Islands. 

Editor Bianca Bexton acquired UK and Commonwealth rights from Jenny Brown at Jenny Brown Associates. Rider will publish in hardback on 2nd June 2022. 

The synopsis reads: Munro transforms her life when she ups sticks and moves to the tiny island of Whalsay as part of her PhD, studying the hardy ponies that inhabit this rugged and remote landscape. Over the course of a year, she experiences the uncertainty of life as an outsider, devastating loss and the harsh nature of this wild land. Yet through it all, she finds comfort and hope through the people and animals of Shetland who help her find the sense of home she has always been looking for. This is a heart-warming and uplifting story about the incredible healing that comes from our connection to nature and each other.

Bexton said: I’m thrilled to be welcoming Catherine to the list with her wonderful first book. The Ponies at the Edge of the World is a timeless story of finding your place in life set in the stunning landscapes of Shetland. It is a gorgeous piece of escapism for anyone yearning for a gentler pace of life and a real hymn to the comfort and healing we can find in the people, places and animals closest to us. A perfect read for fans of Raynor Winn, Amy Liptrot and Helen Macdonald.

Munro commented: I am delighted to be publishing my book with Rider. It is wonderful to be able to share the stories of the intertwined lives of people and ponies in Shetland and my own journey of finding a sense of home there.
Happy Publication Day to this beautiful novel, inspired by the eventful and colourful lives of the pioneering women artists The Glasgow Girls. Daisy Chain is a story of independence, art, resilience and female friendship, set against the turbulent background of the early years of the 20th century. 
 
The stunning portrait on the cover is by Dorothy Johnstone, an Edinburgh rather than Glasgow-based artist- but, like the protagonist in the novel, Dorothy has a close connection with Kirkcudbright and the other artists working there.  Lovely summer exhibition of work by Glasgow Boys and Girls currently on at @kbtgalleries
#theglasgowgirls #glasgowschoolofart #kirkcudbright #historicalfiction

Comment on Facebook

What a beautiful cover

These beauties were awaiting my return from a week away:
The v handsome Italian edition of The Valley at the Centre of the World by @malachytallack, translated by @andreamorstabilini83, published by @libribompiani 
Antlers of Water, edited by Kathleen Jamie, out in paperback next month
New editions of #georgemackaybrown writing, An Orkney Tapestry edited by Linden Bicket & Kirsteen McCue, Selected Short Stories edited @malachytallack and Selected Poems, edited by Kathleen Jamie.
The v exciting proof of The Dark Remains by William McIlvanney & @ianrankin2, out September
And, last but not least (and the inspiration for the backdrop) :
Daisy Chain by Maggie Ritchie, a sweeping novel about friendship inspired by the Glasgow Girls, published this week.
These are the books our household has been loving during our week in the Highlands, in between swimming, cycling, hiking, and entertaining 11 week old Alek on his first ever holiday. 
#holidayreading
Fantastic feature on #devorgilladays in today’s @the.scotsman.  A memoir of hope and healing set in Wigtown, Scotland’s book town. 
It’s never too late to start again. 

@poshpedlar @devorgilladays @tworoadsbooks @johnmurrays @wigtownbookfest #wigtown 
#wildswimming #bemoredevorgilla

Comment on Facebook

Coming up next at Aye Write!

from Twitter

Load More...